h1

Elliott Smith and Love for the Wilson Brothers

27 October 2008

After watching Wes Anderson’s The Royal Tenenbaums, one song was stuck in my head: Elliott Smith’s “Needle in the Hay”. For some reason I experienced a strong emotional connection with that song. I had never heard the song before, given that the only ES album I had at the time was New Moon. But I heard it and I was sure it was Elliott Smith singing.

About 56 hours later, I now have a total of 7 studio albums of Elliott Smith, as well as Iron & Wine’s 3 studio albums, and the original soundtracks of Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums and The Darjeeling Limited. I decided to up my iTunes library’s folk count.

See the film. Get the song.

Elliott Smith, RIP.

Luke Wilson, ily. Owen too, except Owen tried to kill himself.

UPDATE: I AM NOW FINISHED WITH MY NEWSFLASH ARTICLE, due OCTOBER 31st. Will strike it off the list now.

Leave a Reply

