h1

Sleight of Hand & Twist of Fate~

15 November 2008

I’m feeling strangely uninspired today, and in absolutely no mood to write a Heroes review, so I shall write about — not again! — music.

I would love to live in the United Kingdom. They have this segment on BBC Radio 1 called Live Lounge, from (I believe) The Jo Whiley Show, and artists come in and play music, usually covers of other artists’ songs. So far my favorite covered song is Keane’s version of U2’s “With or Without You”, which I believe comes from their album, The Joshua Tree, though I still have to check up on that. Another artist who covered that song was Breathe Carolina, though they didn’t perform that on Live Lounge; I just got it off their Myspace profile. Ehhnyway, that song’s been stuck in my head since.

Pardon the digression, but anyway, I got the Live Lounge compilations from my awesome Physics teacher, Mr. Reilly, who is not only from the United Kingdom but also has a kickass taste in music, sort of. At least good enough to have these songs from Jo Whiley’s live sessions. There’s some pretty sick stuff. Love it so much.

Also, Damien Rice doesn’t put me to sleep anymore, but Avenged Sevenfold does. I have no idea why it works that way, but it just does. Gone are the days when I could listen to Damien Rice or Jason Mraz for hours and then doze off. For some reason, I put on some A7X, or some RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, and next thing I know I’m asleep as a baby. There are these songs by Avenged, “A Little Piece of Heaven” (Avenged Sevenfold) and “Girl I Know” (Diamonds In The Rough), and they just KILL me in amazing ways. Seriously, though. Avenged Sevenfold, Rage Against The Machine, Senses Fail. The Soundtrack of my Sleep.

Avenged Sevenfold – “A Little Piece of Heaven” (download, 18.46MB)
Avenged Sevenfold – Live in the LBC/Diamonds in the Rough (disc 1) (download, 107 MB)

I’m downloading David Cook’s album as I type. I’m hoping that it’s as great as people say it is. Having supported him throughout his rigged!Idol journey, and a little after that, it would be a shame for it all to go to waste on an album that is nothing less than the commercial crap that “people want”, the kind of music you think about when someone says, “The Jonas Brothers”, or, “Miley Cyrus”, or, for the house fans, far-too-overplayed tracks such as Fedde LeGrand’s “Put Your Hands Up For Detroit” or Bob Sinclar’s “Love Generation”. I’m expecting a flavour that is truly David’s, similar to Analog Heart but better, remastered, more awesome. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

WARNING: OUT OF MY EXTREME BOREDOM, YOU MAY OR MAY NOT BE SELECTED FOR KAYE’S RANDOM ACTS OF SONG, WHERE I SHALL PHONE YOU, SING THE KILLERS’ LATEST SONG, “HUMAN”, AND HANG UP. JUST A WARNING. IT’S VERY (NOT REALLY) RANDOM!!!

Leave a Reply

