h1

I can’t believe August is almost over.

29 August 2009

By the end of this month (if you’re not too picky) I will have finished my first month into the IB Diploma.

Honestly, though, I feel like I’ve been in school forever. 

Though the weeks feel short and the days pass quickly, the pace at which each of my courses goes by has been insanely fast. I’ve been doing a lot work lately, and by that I really do mean actual work and not just messing about. This week I had to write my first comparative commentary in Filipino. I have never written so many Filipino words in one piece, ever. Also, English also gives quite a hefty load to do, and our current unit is on poetry by an Amherst guy named Richard Wilbur. He’s amazing, honestly. His poems are so meticulously crafted that I learn something new every time I read one of his poems. But I find them really hard to understand. They’re just so dense with stuff.

I also think that I’m involved in too many activities this year. If Prom Committee, BOB Committee and CWS were counted as official clubs this year I would be way past the Policy of Limitations in school. Woods would flip his lid. I’m such a cheater, I know, but I think that I should take advantage of all the activities I can take part of in school. For CAS hours, or something. No, really though, I do want to be part of all those activities. MUN may be as hard as Rafa Sy’s abs for me, but I really do feel that I reap some benefits from it, even when I don’t really say… anything.

My biggest problem in terms of courses will probably be Film HL, though. I mean, I think I’ll have the analysis and independent study parts down, but I’m screwed for production because my group bound to bomb. Since this is a public page I won’t be going into further detail, but may I just add that there is a lot of frustration involved. I have a personal notebook for such rage. But the writing parts, the talking about film parts, I might be better with those. It’s just the actual film production that I tend to struggle with. UGH. For my independent study, I might do a genre study on defining “independent cinema” and how different cultures attempt to deviate from their nation’s mainstream film culture. Maybe. I dunno. I’m going on a Gael Garcia Bernal DVD binge for the next few days, though. Too much cuteness!!

Also, I am excited for Cinemanila because Diego Luna is coming to Manila. Oh My Freakin God.

But I digress.

So, aaanyway, three full weeks into junior year, my favourite classes are Psychology and Filipino (for some reason, I keep forgetting that I’m taking Physics). Again, this is a public place and therefore not the appropriate venue for the release of any explicit opinions. I have other outlets for that, since I am a self-professed serial blogger. 

I really do like Psychology class, though. And Filipino is a riot. Actually, there are many things I like about most of my classes, such as Math. I don’t think I’ve ever had so much fun in a Math class before, especially today. I love my Math SL teacher and think he is absolutely hilarious. I just hope I pass at least half the classes that I’ve signed myself up for the next two years, and I hope I can balance all that IB stuff with all my EACs and all the standardised tests I’ll have to do and such. 

I’m being cut off by mis padres, hence I must now finish off and possibly continue this at a different time.

Buenas noches.

xx

Leave a Reply

